It’s Time for The Dell Technologies Championship To Thrill Us Again

Tiger Woods

With a list of past champions that includes Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy, and Rickie Fowler, the Dell Technologies Championship returns to Boston for the 16th consecutive year Aug. 30 – Sept. 3.

As the second of four FedExCup Playoffs events, the top-100 players in the FedExCup standings will descend upon TPC Boston for the traditional Monday Labor Day finish and a pivotal event for determining who ultimately wins the season-long FedExCup points race.

“We are excited to once again welcome the PGA TOUR’s best to Boston this Labor Day,” said Executive Director Rich Brady. “The championship has provided a front-row seat to amazing Playoff drama over the years and produced a decorated list of past champions. We’re looking forward to seeing what unfolds again this year at TPC Boston.”

Last year, Justin Thomas closed with a 5-under 66 for his fifth victory of the season. However, it didn’t come easy as Thomas’ buddy Jordan Spieth riled up the New England crowd with a birdie-eagle-birdie-birdie start over his first four holes of the final round to briefly surge into the lead. With a front-nine 30, Australian Marc Leishman also briefly took the lead from Thomas. With only seven holes remaining, Thomas, Spieth and Leishman all shared the lead, but Spieth made a costly bogey at the 14th while Thomas stuck it tight for birdies at the 13th and 15th to take the solo lead, which he would never relinquish.

Following his victory in Boston, Thomas went on to win the
season-long FedExCup points race after finishing runner-up at the finale event, the TOUR Championship in Atlanta. It marked the second consecutive year in which  the winner of the Dell Technologies Championship has gone on to win the FedExCup following Rory McIlroy’s FedExCup title in 2016.

Since Adam Scott won the inaugural event in 2003, the championship has generated over $28 million for local and national charities. For the 2018 event, a decorated list of past champions are already qualified for this year’s event – Tiger Woods (2006), Phil Mickelson (2007), Webb Simpson (2011), Henrik Stenson (2013), Rickie Fowler (2015), Rory McIlroy (2012, 2016), Justin Thomas (2017).

Daily Good-Any-One-Day grounds tickets, August 30 to September 3, are currently available for purchase at $70 each as well as daily Good-Any-One-Day passes to the HarborOne Champions Club, an upgraded ticket option that grants access to a climate-controlled space on the 17th tee for $85. In addition, a limited number of Stadium Seats at 16 packages are available at the regular price of $175.

For more information about the Dell Technologies Championship,visit or follow the Dell Technologies Championship on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram at @DellTechChamp.

2018 Dell Championship Fast Facts

Where: TPC Boston, Norton, Ma

When: Aug. 30-Sept. 3.

Purse: $9 million.

Winner’s Share: $1.62 million..

FedEx Cup Points:2,000 to the winner.

Defending Champion: Justin Thomas

Recent Champions:
2016 Rory McIlroy
2015 Rickie Fowler
2014 Chris Kirk
2013 Henrik Stenson
2012 Rory McIlroy
2011 Webb Simpson
2010 Charley Hoffman
2009 Steve Stricker
2008 Vijay Singh
2007 Phil Mickelson
2006 Tiger Woods
2005 Olin Browne
2004 Vijay Singh
2003 Adam Scott


The Rub of the Green: 

Dell Technologies took over for former title sponsor Deutsche Bank two years ago; this is the second of four stops on the PGA Tour’s Playoffs with the ultimate prize being the FedExCup and its $10 million winner’s check; the top 100 ranked players on the FedExCup points list will tee it up; Justin Thomas won last year’s tournament by three shots over Jordan Spieth; this is the 16th year the tournament, which is played at the par-71, 7,216-yard TPC Boston, has been held; the layout was originally crafted by Arnold Palmer and remodeled by Gil Hanse and PGA Tour player Brad Faxon in 2007; the course won “Best New Private Remodel in the United States” from Golf Digest in 2007; Rory McIlroy and Vijay Singh have won the tournament twice each, while Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson have captured it once apiece; the event has generated over $28 million for national and local charities since 2003.